Hey Everyone! Come See How Good I Look

June 11, 2013 — Leave a comment

3qks0f

2 Corinthians 3:2

The only letter of recommendation we need is you yourselves. Your lives are a letter written in our hearts; everyone can read it and recognize our good work among you. 

HEY EVERYONE! COME SEE HOW GOOD I LOOK!

One of my favorite lines from one of my favorite movies, Anchor Man. Even though it is a funny line I sort of feel like this is the truth to a look of people. I feel a lot of people, including myself, try to get the attention of how good I’m doing or what I wrote or what I came up with or what sweet project I’m doing next. We post it on Facebook, on Twitter, on Instagram to see how many “likes” we get. We try to get all these “letters of recommendation” from others around us trying to validate what we are doing as “good”.

This verse in 2 Corinthians rings true. We do not need any other letter recommendation other than our lives and how Jesus has changed it. Your life is a letter. People read letters. Students read letters (or more realistically, students read texts now but you know what I’m saying). What are people reading from you? Is it Jesus? Or is it something else?

I want my stuff to get noticed. I won’t lie to you. It’s when we want it to matter to people more than we want it to matter to God is when we need a heart check. I want everything I do, every act, word, blog, resource, whatever… be a letter that reflects Jesus and my ministry to share Him over anything else.

I think some of us need to do the same thing when it comes to our home life, ministry, side-thing, whatever.

What does your letter really say?

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

