Students Don’t Because We Don’t

April 15, 2013 — 4 Comments

I think every ministry wants to have stellar worship. I think every youth pastor/worker wants to see their students passionately worship. Want to see their student who are welcoming new students. Want to see their students bring their friends to church. Want to see their students pray for other students.I think every ministry wants to see their students read the Bible and study it in a way that changes their lives. Am I right?

I was thinking about this the other day. I was thinking about how some students do not do any of this. I got a little annoyed. But then I felt conviction. I had the thought of, “Are they not doing it because they do not see me doing it?” I felt two feet tall. If we are really honest with ourselves, a lot of the time we are so busy talking about all of the things above to our students that we are not actually living it out ourselves. Our ministry gets distracted by doing…. well, ministry. It was and has been a real gut check for me.

When music is going, do I stop and passionately worship?

When I meet a new student, do I stop and really get to meet them instead of running around pre-service getting ready for the service?

When I told to a student, do I stop and pray with them right then and there or do I say, “I’ll pray for you.” and then forget to later?

Am I reading my Bible everyday and study it in a way that will change my life?

Am I really bringing my friends who don’t know Jesus to church with me?

Stop and really ask yourself these questions. Maybe we are not seeing our students do these things because they do not see their pastors doing these things. This is something I am trying my hardest to do. I’m not going to lie, I have seen quite  a difference in student’s reactions to these things since I have been doing them. Maybe it’s catching on.

If we are leading, we need to lead by example. Lead it.

4 responses to Students Don’t Because We Don’t

  1. 

    Justin,

    Wow, smack in the face! Great reminders for us student pastor and youth workers. The question: “Are they not doing it because they do not see me doing it?” is a question I want to continually be asking myself. Thanks for sharing this.

    Austin

  2. 

    Dude, I must agree with you. I think that you hit the nail on the head. We need to hold the mirror up from time to time and recognize that our students follow our goods and bass – much in the same way they do with their parents. Great post man.

Leave a Reply

