Self-Control: You Know You Want It

January 28, 2013 — Leave a comment

self-control-motivational-poster-21653

Self-control is a tricky thing. For me, I have a hard time with self-control when it comes to Taco Bell. I can’t help it. It tastes so good but it’s so bad for you. Self-control when it comes to our lives is something in which we need to keep in mind if we want our Christian walk to be stronger.

Self-control is the ability to control oneself. It has to do with moderation, constraint, and the ability to say “no” to our fleshly desires. I believe that one of the proofs that God is working in our lives is the ability to control our own thoughts, words, and actions. It is not that we are weak that we need to be aware of this, but it is because we are the under the influence of sin. One definition of sin is “filling a legitimate need through illegitimate means.” With out the Holy Spirit we wont be able to determine and choose the best way to meet our needs. Even if we know what is best, and we know what we need to do, without self-control we can fall into that sin more and more. If we don’t show self-control in our actions, we will continually, on a daily basis, fall back into the things that pull us further and further away from God.

The great thing is, self-control naturally leads to perseverance and the ability to abstain from instant gratification of the world. Self-control is a gift that frees us. It frees us to have a healthy body, in the security of good stewardship, from a guilty conscience and it restricts us to fall into our foolish desires. If we were to have self-control we will be able to love and live as we were meant to.

Philippians 2:13- For it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.

Romans 6:6- We know that our old self was crucified with him in order that the body of sin might be brought to nothing, so that we would no longer be enslaved to sin.

Galatians 5:1- For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.

Romans 7:21–25- So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.

2 Peter 1:6- and knowledge with self-control, and self-control with steadfastness, and steadfastness with godliness.

Pray:

  • That God shows you where in your life do you need more self-control.
  • That you can take hold of your desires, and learn to take control of it.
  • That God helps you live and love the way that we were meant to from the beginning.
  • God fills you with His Holy Spirit because without it, you wont be able to determine what to withhold from.
  • God gives you the ultimate self-control so you can beat whatever it is that has a hold on you.
No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

